KBCB Board Members


Keep Bamberg County Beautiful includes board members whom the Bamberg County Council appoints. Members encourage the community to voluntarily work to improve the physical and visual landscape, primarily through beautification, recycling, litter prevention, and cleanup efforts throughout the county.


On a regular basis, board members can be found conducting continuing education and awareness programs regarding litter, recycling, and the proper handling of solid waste. They also help develop new programs like the "We Want Your Butts - Cigarette Waste Recycling Program," which results in the sustained reduction of litter. Members review and recommend legislative changes regarding solid waste management in the county.


Often, you can find members undertaking beautification projects, participating in litter cleanups, or showing community members how to recycle. Meetings are held monthly and are located at the Hooten Black House or the Bamberg County Courthouse Annex.


Each member serves a one-year term, and those on the board serve without compensation. Annually, members select a chairperson, vice-chairperson, and secretary. Board members form committees, including neighborhood/civic groups, schools, municipal beautification, business recycling, in-house county recycling, public relations, and finance/fundraising committees.


Without any objection, Bamberg County Council accepted the ordinance on December 2, 2013. More information on the board and formation of Keep Bamberg County Beautiful can be received by viewing the Bamberg County Ordinance to Keep Bamberg County Beautiful - Ordinance No. 1-13-8.


To become a board member of Keep Bamberg County Beautiful, it is recommended that you first attend several meetings and projects. Currently, there are 2 open positions open for board members. For more information, please ask a current board member, or email kbcb@bambergcounty.sc.gov.


boardMembers of the Keep Bamberg County Beautiful Board include:


Nina Haynes, Chairwoman

Jerry Bell, Vice-Chair

Detra Salley Bruce

Rosella Cooper 

Myrtis Williams 

Tania Johnson-Hester

Catherine Russell