Joey Preston, Bamberg County Administrator, Receives Denmark Technical College's Presidential Service Award

Posted by 05/05/2022


Bamberg, South Carolina (May 2022) – Joey Preston, Administrator of Bamberg County, was surprised to learn at the 73rd Commencement Convocation of Denmark Technical College that he was one of the recipients of the 2022 Presidential Service Award.


"During the course of his long and distinguished public service, Joey Preston has been an impassioned advocate for Denmark Technical College, always working to partner with us and create opportunities for our renewal and growth," said Denmark Technical College President Willie Todd. "A firm believer in the lasting and intrinsic value of education, he has also been a strong and effective advocate for Denmark Tech and our students. Mr. Preston understands that when Denmark Tech grows, Bamberg County grows. We are exceptionally proud to be able to bestow this well-deserved honor on Mr. Preston."


"It is truly overwhelming to receive this award from one of Bamberg County’s most respected and known institutions," Administrator Preston said. "My profound thanks to Dr. Willie Todd and the Denmark Technical College family for bestowing this honor on me."


Starting in March 1948 as the Denmark Branch of the South Carolina Area Trade School System, later changing to Denmark Area Trade School in the 1960s and now as Denmark Technical College, the college has educated thousands of students across generations.


The college’s primary service area is comprised of Bamberg, Barnwell and Allendale Counties with a legislated mandate to serve students throughout the state. As an open-door institution, the college provides affordable, post-secondary education culminating in associate degrees, diplomas and certificates to citizens from diverse educational and socioeconomic backgrounds.


Bamberg County Councilman Evert Comer, Jr., a former adjunct instructor and staff member at Denmark Tech, who has witnessed the renaissance of the school, commended the new leadership team for their hard work and applauded the efforts between the administration at the college and county officials. Recent collaboration has yielded the launch of the electrical lineworker certification program and Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) Academy in alliance with MedShore Ambulance Service and, together, they are exploring the potential for a four-year-degree pilot training program.


"Joey Preston has stressed the importance of supporting our local higher education institutions like Denmark Tech and has built a strong working relationship between the school and government," said Comer. "He understands that when Denmark Tech succeeds, Bamberg County succeeds."


The Presidential Award for Distinguished Service is presented at the discretion of the President of Denmark Technical College. Mr. Preston was recognized in celebration of work that exemplifies the Denmark Technical College core values of excellence, innovation, integrity, leadership, student centered and transparency.


Other honorees included State Representative Gilda Cobb Hunter of Orangeburg.


For more information on this press release, email