A New Year welcomes New Leadership for Bamberg County Council

Posted by 01/14/2022

Bamberg, South Carolina (January 2022) – During its first meeting of the year Monday, Bamberg County Council affirmed Spencer Donaldson as chair and Dr. Jonathan Goodman as vice chair for 2022. 


Under county council policy rules, the chair and vice chair rotates by district every year, beginning at the January meeting. The council chair presides at the county’s regular meetings and performs other organizational responsibilities. 


Both Donaldson and Goodman are entering the second year of their first terms on county council. The Councilmembers were both elected in the 2020 election and were sworn into office at the beginning of 2021.


Chair Donaldson expressed gratitude for his predecessor Larry Haynes upon accepting the chair’s gavel. 


“These are times like none other - not only for the challenges that Bamberg County faces, but across the world as we combat this endless pandemic which altered our typical methods of doing business. I really appreciate Larry’s leadership through it all. I understand the significance of the chair’s role and I look forward to working with my colleagues and our constituents to promote industry and growth, strengthen cooperation, and invest in infrastructure and transportation projects.” 


Donaldson who represents District 4, which runs outside of the city limits of Denmark and includes the local communities of Sweden and Finland, is employed in the trucking industry and serves on the board of deacons at Mount Zion Baptist Church in Denmark. He is also a volunteer firefighter and soccer coach. 


“As an educator, this first year as a member of the county council has been a great learning experience for me,” said Dr. Jonathan Goodman, the elected representative for District 5, which is anchored in the city of Denmark and includes the campuses of Denmark Technical College and Voorhees College. 


A native of Denmark, Goodman is the principal of Hampton Elementary School, and is passionate about community building and being a catalyst for change. “I look forward to setting priorities in 2022 that will propel Bamberg County to the forefront of success. We can accomplish this by pulling and working together.” 


Bamberg County Council consists of seven members who are elected from single-member districts for four-year terms beginning January 1 on the year after their election. A Council Clerk provides administrative support and maintains official records of Council meetings and activities. A full-time County Administrator, hired by Council, is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the County. 


The Bamberg County Council convenes its regular meetings for the transaction of official business on the first Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., in the Council Chambers of the Bamberg Courthouse Annex, located at 1234 North Street, Bamberg, South Carolina 29003, unless otherwise specified by the Council.