Bamberg County Councilman Haynes Selected as Lower Savannah COG Board Chairman

Posted by 08/16/2018

Bamberg, South Carolina (July 2018) – At the July 2, 2018 Bamberg County Council meeting, Dr. William Molnar, Executive Director of the Lower Savannah Council of Governments (LSCOG), announced that Councilman Larry Haynes was selected as the 2018-2019 Board Chairman of the LSCOG Board of Directors.


The LSCOG is a regional organization which coordinates cooperative development among the local governments. The LSCOG serves six counties including Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun, and Orangeburg Counties. Councilman Haynes has served on the LSCOG Board of Directors since 2011.


Councilman Haynes was first elected to Bamberg County Council in 2010. Born and raised in Bamberg, he graduated from Richard Carroll High School and attended Voorhees College before moving to Brooklyn, New York.  Upon his retirement, he moved back to Bamberg where he lives with his wife, Nina. They have one daughter and two granddaughters. Mr. Haynes is active in his church, Free Gift Baptist Church, serving as the Chairman of the Deacon Board. In addition to serving on Bamberg County Council and his recent selection as Chairman of the LSCOG Board of Directors, he also serves on the Board of Directors for Southern Carolina Regional Development Alliance, Three Rivers Solid Waste Authority, and Masonic Lodge. As a county council member, Mr. Haynes has been involved with repairing county roads, supporting increased broadband internet access, and promoting the Capital Penny Sales Tax that resulted in the construction of the Bamberg County Courthouse Annex building, paid for repairs to the Bamberg City Civic Center, and Denmark’s Dane Theater, among other capital improvement projects.


“I am very happy to be working with Councilman Haynes as ascends to the chairmanship of the LSCOG.  Mr. Haynes has been extremely involved with the COG in his roles as a board member, treasurer and vice-chairman,” said Dr. Molnar. “The staff and I look forward to a successful year under his leadership.”


The LSCOG Board of Directors has 39 members appointed from the six member counties.  The Chairmanship rotates from county to county on an annual basis.  A Nomination Committee comprised of three LSCOG board members nominated Mr. Haynes to be the LSCOG Treasurer for 2016-17, Vice-Chairman for 2017-2018, and Chairman for 2018-19. “I strive to continue to improve our region by promoting industrial infrastructure and expanding broadband internet access,” said Mr. Haynes. “I look forward to serving the residents of the Lower Savannah region as Chairman of the LSCOG Board of Directors. I am confident our efforts will improve their quality of life.”




For more information on this press release, email